Introduction The Islands, The Islands

Introduction The Islands

Papua New Guinea is a popular tourist destination in the South Pacific. The Islands region comprises of North Soloman Islands and Bismark Archipelago. The population density of these islands is very low (14% of the population of Papua New Guinea), compared to the rest of the country.

The Islands are divided into five provinces – East Britain, New Ireland, Manus, West New Britain and Bougainville. These Islands are rich in natural beauty; many tourists have said the trip is positively unforgettable. They also have a vibrant tourist industry and will appeal to backpackers and adventure travelers. Popular tourist activities on these islands are swimming, rock climbing, fishing, kayaking, snorkeling and arts, and crafts.